It rocks to be in love in your fifties


 

usSome of us have the luck to find that one in a lifetime love, a rare find. Most others get married and live their lifes until that moment when you realize that it does not make sense to carry on in a broken relationship. People divorce and are back on the street, not as a single but as a divorcee.

Everything changes; finding someone new in your fifties isn’t al that easy, after all we have a backpack loaded with pleasant and less pleasant things of life.

If you are lucky, then the kids are out the house. Leaving you a bit more room to start something new. But even with kids it can work, all it takes is a bit of willingness and understanding.

_DSC2720Here you are a newborn single; friends worship your new freedom. Some even try to couple you… But after all, it is you who has to deal with it.

Lets face it, being single is a challenge. It took me some time to get over it, and settle in my new situation… Where would I find a new partner?   Can I fall in love again? Am I not to old? What will people say? There is only one way to find out, and that is trying it.

But how do you start?   For years you have been a house hero, a family man, a DIY guy. And lets face it at the age of 55 one is neither old nor young.

Late nights in pubs or bars are not all that refreshing, besides the fact that you won’t find what you are looking for.   So where do you meet that woman?

_DSC2328-EditBefore you know it , you created that mental list of how she has to look like. Staring yourself blind on those superficial requirements.

Slowly you realise that it isn’t going to be that easy. Many start a diet or join a health club, swap out their wardrobe. Some go that far that they change their whole lifestyle. My advice, just be yourself.

Not that it is going to make a lot of difference. Potential partners just don’t show up at your doorstep. You really need to get your act together, take the first steps.

_DSC2667If you haven’t dated in 25 years, it is going to be awkward. On the other hand it’s like riding a bicycle, even after 25 years .

Sure, it’s a bit unstable, uncertain, swinging from the left to the right. But eventually you get it right.

After my divorce, I went looking for that very special person, the one that I wanted to share the rest of my life with. It took me a few months to find her. But I did.

Falling in love in your fifties is not any different then at the age of twenty. In fact

I’ve been in love before like most young men, but not in this way. It’s so much more intense, so deep. I don’t know if it is because of the past or the awareness of time. Maybe we are more mature at this age and are able to appreciate simple things. But let me assure you, falling in love in your fifties is the most beautiful experience one can have, especially when the feeling is mutual.

Put all the silly ideas of the perfect partner aside and look for the beautiful side of things that she has to offer.

_DSC2662-EditAt the start we were in the “wild thing” . A feeling of love that is so intoxicating and exciting . That first kiss, the first night…..

I realize now who we are and how long I’ve been waiting for this.

It feels so perfect, like I have known her for years.

It is unlike anything I’ve ever known, something I’ve never experienced.

An incredible feeling that can only be reached by people who really love each other. I tell her constantly how beautiful, smart, funny, talented, insightful, sexy and beautiful she is

It rocks to be in love in your fifties, and if you ask me “We have the time of our life.”

_DSC3294-EditI’ve been in love a few times in my life, but never experienced such a profound and deep love. An emotional roller-coaster, taking me from one thrilling moment to the other.

That ridiculous checklist stored in the back of my head, filled with all the admirable qualities that I ever wanted in a soul mate evaporated the first time we kissed. She is so much more.

I was talking to a friend the other day, trying to explain what exactly was going on with my heart and mind.

_DSC3006I hesitate to call it “mature love” because I feel young. Like a teenager; madly in love.

What I experience is a true love, way beyond sentimental songs or romantic comedies.

The best way I can describe it;

It feels effortless, strong, light, surprising and richly with an unfathomable depth. I found my sole mate and love; so don’t tell me that falling in love in your fifties does not rock…. It does

Leave a Reply

