Taboos and the right to speak and portray


If you are easily offended, then don’t read this write-up. Note that it is not intended to be offensive and merely represents my view for what it is worth.

Photographers are a strange bunch, and I am by no means an exception.   I have my own opinion on live and society, a bit different than most other people. Voicing my view has led in many instance to strong debates and in a few cases it resulted in treats .

Contra verse and Taboos

Contra verse and Taboos

But that never stopped me , in fact it just worked opposite, Almost like a little kiddy, what is not allowed they will certainly try to do. People call me eccentric, strange and yet they do watch my work and listen to me.  I guess there must be some common sense in what I say , well not always.  The thing is that I never try to convince people, I just try to open their eyes so that they can look at things from another angle. At least if they are not blind.

“Freedom of speech” and expression is the most fundamental human right and nobody should tell us what we may or may not say , write or portray.

–  I may disapprove  of what you say , but I will defend to the death your right to say it.-

That brings me to one of those taboos “Religion”. Yep, a very difficult subject to discuss and write about. Numerous family gatherings and parties fall apart due heated debates between the believers and the non believers.  Strange , that people can  just not talk about and always try to pursue  the other.

It might be easy for me, as I am a none believer.  In fact I only believe in life .  Never the less I get really irritated when I see what people do “in the name of religion” , in most cases it has nothing to see with religion and yet people use it as a means to get power and control over other people.

So I decided to make a series of pictures voicing  my personal views and opinion .  Don’t worry I will not try to convince or convert you, nor do I want to insult anybody.  Although some of the pictures can be confronting and direct.    Lucky for me that I live in a free country.

Private Property

Private Property

Private Property

To many women are forced into a certain lifestyle , whereby the men treats them as they were private property.   According to the those men , that is what the  book says.  Really ?    I don’t think so .   Every human has the right to be free of mind and taught  , why should somebody dictate what to wear, how to behave ?  I have tried to capture my views and opinion  into a single picture  called “Private Property” . Don’t get me wrong , I am not against an organized society as long as it is built on common sense and equality.

Burn in hell

Burn in hell

Burn in hell

Of course none of the religions go free. Not all that long ago the Catholic institute killed and murdered throughout  Europe. The clerics ruled  in name of  God. Everybody who was a potential threat to their power and dominance was eliminated , the inquisition..the cleansing of witches .  That is what they called you a “witch” , if you were just a bit different and had your own views.  I guess I would have been killed on the spot.  And yet they claimed to have a justice system.Witches were placed on a burning pile of wood, if they were innocent they would survive it  (duh??).  Or they were thrown into a pond , in a bag enforced with heavy rocks . If they were innocent they would not drown  (duh??).

In the name of religion

In the name of religion ?

In the name of religion ?

And then there are those that kill and murder in the name of religion “jihad” .  Even today , “in the name of religion”.  I wonder where they have read this  ?  Fact is that most of those so-called jihad fighters can not even read or write. No wonder that they are easy pry to the extremist .  It all sounds very similar to the medieval European period where the peasants just followed the religious leaders. Just think about the crusades ,  under the hospice of  holy cross , thousands of Muslims were killed. Nothing really changed.  Looks like we will never learn .

The Nun, the tale of man made rules

The tale of men made rules

The tale of men made rules

Females, why don’t they  have equal rights in religious institutions  ?  Have you ever seen them in the high order ?  I didn’t and why is that ?  I have my views on it but for sure it is the tale of men made rules . Why can’t they be pretty , appealing  and ambitious, the bishops are except the pretty and appealing  part . Hard to believe that an old institute like the Catholic Church after  centuries is not evolved into an equal opportunity organization.  If you are a female , then you are doomed .  Sure you could become mother superior but that is about it.  Let them be free, let them have children. Let them become a citizen of this world, while practicing their religion.

Lust a disordered desire

Lust an immoral desire ?

Lust an immoral desire ?

In a recent interview with a prominent  bishop the following strange statements were made. ” We must become pure”.  “A  good catholic does not have unclean taught , shall not masturbate, drink, have no  sex before marriage,  shall not be sexual challenging…… ” Come on folks, let’s be for real. Why should we not behave like normal human people, why do we need to be told what we may and may not do .  Lust and desire are a vital part of our life and modern  society, and strangely enough  the “Do Not’s” are mainly focussed on females. I still haven’t figured out why they are so strict about it.  It believe in a free mind and body and will not be constrained by those who have never experienced it.

Knowledge the source of all evil

Knowledge the source of evil

Knowledge the source of evil

Imagine that you are born as a female, while your brothers goes to school and you have to stay home. You are told that you may not read certain books , as they are the source of evil. Duhhh ?  And yet that is what is happening to so many women in this world. Why ?  There is a very simple answer and it is called  ” male domination”, it is so easy to deprive people from an eduction, so easy to make them depended. And if you do ,  you get the power .   That is why they may not study, the argument that those men use ” It is part of our religion” is as very poor and twisted excuse. A strange interpretation if you ask me.

The innocence 

Innocence

Innocence

Belgium must be in the genius book of records for clerical child abuse, for years clerics have abused young innocent boys and girls.  It was all known  by the hierarchy but they turned a blind eye and covered up (claimed , for the better of the institution).   Bishops were involved and had eventually to step down.   But it took decennia before people who had been abused to start talking .  It was so easy for the priest to abuse young boys , with his authority and religious talk no boy would ever come forward and tell the world . And if they tried, the same cleric would  contact the parents and told that their son had un-pure taught.  At best the boy got a punishment from his parents , or ended up with the same priest for extra hours of catechism .  Why are so many clerics involved in pedophilia ?  I always wondered  why a healthy young man would become a priest and decline fleshly pleasures for live .  No wonder …   And guess what the pedophile told their little victims “it is all in the name of religion”.  Get the picture ?

Forbidden Love

Forbidden love

Forbidden love

Didn’t they say “go and multiply” .  Or at least that is what I remember when I was in sunday church many moons ago.   So, the institute approves intercourse only as a means to create new live.  Fleshly pleasures are not an option.  I don’t get it.  Sadly enough that is not where it stops.  When a high catholic spokesmen stated that homosexuality is a mental illness , I fell of my chair.  What is wrong with those people,  is it not so that we must love each other ?    Oh yeah but only between two different genders !   I am straight, but have no issue if two men or two women want to get married and start a family. As long as they are happy. Even children should be possible, it’s better to have two dad’s or mom’s then one. So why should an institute come in between and forbid it ?   Hard to believe that in 21013 (almost 2014)  intelligent people make such statement, even more so when these people have a social responsibility.

I would say Time for Change

Time for change

Time for change

One thought on “Taboos and the right to speak and portray

  1. Pingback: Taboos and the right to speak and portray | Shooting Phase One

Leave a Reply

